Five newly sworn Police Officers added to the New Bedford Bedford Police force.

Congratulations to our newly appointed police officers, who were sworn in on Monday, July 8th, 2019 at City Hall. Pictured from left to right; City Council President Linda Morad, Chief Joseph Cordeiro, Deputy Chief Paul Oliveira, Officer Jorge Barbosa, Officer Patrick Kustka, Officer Trevor Bettencourt, Officer Tyler White, Officer Nuno Cunha, Mayor Jonathan Mitchell, and Police Chaplain Rev. David Lima.

The recently sworn officers are an example of the continuous efforts of the department to strengthen the police workforce. There are currently 3 Police Academies in session and another starting in September with a total of 23 New Bedford Police Recruits ready to add to the force by the new year. This will raise the department’s force to 263 sworn officers!